What you should have been listening to: Mount Kimbie

I see now I’d uploaded a couple of mp3’s about two months ago (!) and I’m inclined to believe a switch was pulled – either the one to the Internet, or the one in my head. Anyway those who wanted to know, know anyway; for the rest, I’m talking bout Mount Kimbie.

Don’t tell me this is dubstep, it’s better. It’s fresh as larvae. Obviously, artists re-arrange the borders between genres and sub-genres all the time. Kai and Dom of Mount Kimbie have some obvious influences – including “girlfriends” and “stupidity” – says so right on their myspace. Still –  they manage to wipe the slate (almost) clean for the common music purveyor, i.e. not that interested in any particular genre. Therein it’s a delightful listening experience. The barely-there-it-melts-into-your-ears “William” and the only slightly eerie “Taps” are here to make you want more (erm, though the EP has but four tracks):

Find out where to buy the EP.

1 thought on “What you should have been listening to: Mount Kimbie

Leave a comment