SoCalled, Hip Hop meets religion and Klezmer

Just look at the times we’re living in, curiouser and curiouser, as I’m listening to SoCalled‘s These Are The Good Old Days. This track is off the hook, it’s like Bregovic meets big, clean bass lines. What hooks? The whole damn track is a hook.

This is what you get with the Akai MPC, Yiddish musical heritage, and cratedigging need of Canada’s Josh Dolgin, who states his truth thus: “When I began digging for samples, I found these old Jewish records, and they were a clue about this funky, old tradition that had been forgotten. Yiddish theater, Cantorial music…all kinds of weird sounds…and the records had the most amazing breaks! And I realized that I could make my hip hop – my music from them.”

You can listen to his second album, Ghettoblaster, here.

Socalled – These Are The Good Old Days mp3

Socalled – You Are Never Alone mp3

One thought on “SoCalled, Hip Hop meets religion and Klezmer

Leave a Reply

