O Rapture Unforeseen

I never review albums, at least not in an orderly fashion, because I can’t deconstruct that well. I tend to digress, I can’t stand being on point, and I’m highly melodramatic. But this is an audio blog, not Pitchfork, like Scott sort of said to me.  
Anticipation breeds one of two things. Either sheer joy or utter disappointment, quite simply. and I mean the kind of anticipation that makes you want to bite people or coffee tables cause you can’t stand the wait. But sometimes, and you know it’s rare, the planets align, you feel like you’re in an ad where the sun follows you around while you’re oblivious to other peoples’ mishaps etc. Today I finally found a book I know I’ll love, The Magus, I decided on a Japanese minor in college, and I got to hear the new Rapture.

Pieces Of The People We Love is a delicate affair. First of all you have to listen to it loud- it doesn’t do much otherwise, like most music. (People often make the mistake of playing classical music as background music – no, you must listen to it loud, going to the opera can be just as loud as The Ramones) if you’re inebriated enough to scatter yourself on your imaginary dancefloor and shuffle along to the disrupted beats, even better). The production seems to be a bit more sleek this time around, and there was subversive scheming and strategising :p in putting Get Myself Into It out there. However, you clever yet unrealistic marketing people, it only means that the bar might be raised a bit too high for your own good.
I like the album, I mean there are no apparent flaws but I feel a struggle for superglue here: it could have been a tad more interconnected and all songs have the potential of being gems, but with overpolishing comes the feeling of fake, and also the more direct feeling of the reverse- is there underpolishing? For all the pop clash catchiness of Get Myself Into It, there’s a sonic wave solemnly crashing in other parts of the LP.
I like the minimalism of Pieces Of The People We Love, which sounds like a future single, but what’s up with the over-robotization of First Gear? Afterwards, a totally different sound- a sort of new wave meets funk with a nice panting bit from Luke Jenner on The Devil. Callin Me sounds Wolfmother-ish but the heavy engaging drums make it The Rapture’s own and towards the end i did find myself noticing it (the first time I listen to any album I just let it play without interruptions and without checking out the logistics of it- like artwork, song names; it’s a good way to see what stands out).
Down For So Long sounds nice to walk along to (even though you might twitch once in a while) the kind of song that just pushes you forward mentally. The Sound goes into a bit of electronic overdrive which can be daunting, but it works out if you’re in the right mood. Live In Sunshine is a more mellow piece, with a glorious rainbow of drums and synth (and I hate synth so that says a lot). It’s a good way to end an album, albeit expected. I can’t be tough on these guys because you really can sense passion for what they do, and it’s no easy life being a punk-funker.

Here goes:

The Rapture – Callin Me mp3
The Rapture – The Devil mp3
The Rapture – Live In Sunshine mp3
(< if you only get one of these..)

Check the whole thing out for yourself- you could buy at insound.

6 thoughts on “O Rapture Unforeseen

  1. i like the completely out of place drums in calling me. it’s almost as if they said, “hey! lets drown everything else out with a ocean of ridiculously loud drums.” actually i think thats exactly what they said…

  2. It’s no easy life being a punk-funker? Oh please. Back in my day, we’d work down the coal mine for twenty hours a day, and we still managed to squeeze in a bit of punk-funking before bedtime. Not that we had a bed. We slept on rocks and broken glass.

Leave a Reply

